Upcoming Birthday

J’s birthday is something like 24 days away. I have the party planned, in my head. I have yet to finish the invitations or buy anything but it’s okay I still have 24 days.

I have no idea what to even get the boy. Seriously it makes me break out into sweats when I think about adding toys to this house. He of course wants superheroes (doesn’t he own every single one). He’s one of those kids that when he sees a commercial on TV he has to have it, no matter what it is…. oh lately it’s those paperoni sets. Really?!! That’s great he thinks that cool, but I know my son and it will last for all of 5 minutes and then onto the superheroes. He has mentioned Transformers but JT is the only one under this roof that can figure out how to transform them from robot to transportation vehicle and he will ask ME 20 times a day until JT gets home from work to try and transform the evil robot. No thanks. Hours of fun I’m sure.

I’m looking for something fun and educational. Something that I know he will play hours with and for at least a year. I don’t think that he’s ready for legos (turning 4) although I wouldn’t mind that because I love putting those huge kits together. How much fun for me but he couldn’t really play with them the way he usually plays with his toys, which involves smashing and crashing and those kits are fun to put together… the first time. I also considered a playmobil set and still may get one just not sure which one. My mom got something perfect for him. She got him the Imaginext Pirate Ship and she got it for like $17. It’s a great gift and he’s going to flip his lid. He’ll be beside himself excited he loves those realistic playsets and he loves pirates so it’s a win-win.

His new love is Spongebob Squarepants, but I know my son and I know that this is a phase just like Scooby Doo and the Wiggles before him, so I don’t really want to bombard him with S.S. stuff. I’m really at a lose. If you have any suggestions…. they’re always welcome. I have a feeling this will be what makes it home with me.

2 thoughts on “Upcoming Birthday

  1. Mary Jo says:

    We bought Erin a new bike (tricycle with a handle we can push) and a little piano keyboard which she loves!
    Does he like musical instruments?

    I bet he’s not quite ready for Legos yet. Those keep Evan busy for ages!

  2. Nicole says:

    my kids do really love playmobil sets…and we have that pirate ship and it was a big hit!

Leave a comment