Moon Dough Barnyard Play Set Review

Team mom sent us a Moon Dough play set recently to review. My kids were aching to open this set to see what it was all about. With school starting and life just being generally crazy. I kept having to put it off but FINALLY on Thursday we opened the set up and let loose.

Moon Dough is made by Spin Master and Spin Master toys never disappoint. The dough is hypo-allergenic and wheat-free. It never dries out so you can use it over and over. The Moon Dough is a very cool texture. The company refers to it as a marshallow type texture but I would refer to it as a circus peanut type texture. I thought it was kind of cool. I am not generally a fan of that other dough that you “play” with. In fact I rarely let them get it out, that’s more of a Daddy’s watching you toy. So I was hesitant but this stuff is really cool. If it falls on the floor it’s very easy to pick up. One complaint is that the dough we got with the set did not come in containers, we had to use ziploc bags when we were finished playing.

The way the barn works… you take dough stuff it in the top and turn the crank in the back. Out shoots a horse, cow, chicken/rooster and a sheep. There are also molds for a fence or a hay bale. and there is a mat that the farm can sit on. So it is a lot of fun. My kids didn’t tire of it, even after an hour. I really liked that the barn had an attachment to catch all the remnants. That was nice instead of having to pick up all these small pieces of dough. The product is geared towards the 2-4 age range. My kids are 6 and 5 and I’m 34, why am I telling you that??? We had some trouble figuring the whole thing out. It takes some practice to get the animals to appear down the chute looking like the animals. You have to turn the crank slowly and kids never do anything slowly. But with some practice it gets easier.

One other complaint I had was when I was going to clean up the barn and accessories there was a whole bunch of dough caught inside in between the wheel of animal forms and the wall. It was very difficult to get all of it out. But don’t let that deter you, this is still a great toy and my kids I know will play with it endlessly and I don’t mind that they do because it’s not messy.

There are other play sets: Moon Dough Pizza Shop, Magic Molding Doghouse and Moon Dough Burger Shop. Of course the Moon Dough comes in several colors (refill packs) like Blue, Green, White, Orange, Purple, Red, Pink and Yellow. The sets can be purchased at Walmart, e Toys, Toys “R” Us, Target, Kmart, AC Moore and Michaels.

Leave a Reply

