Let’s get real

So I had a realization the other day, a bad realization. The kind of reality that makes me want to crawl into bed. In my 33 years I never thought I would utter these words but… I’m the fat friend!! You know the one in the picture with a swimsuit cover-up on while your other friends stand around in their bikinis, completely proud of their bodies. They should be. They’re working hard on them while I sit here like a lump on a log.

My BFF is skinny and my other friend just lost 40 pounds. My cousin works out like constantly, my soon to be sis-in-law is working out for the wedding and my mom is super skinny from working out almost everyday. I am seeing a trend 😉 Working out might be good for you.

SO… JT, the kids and I joined the Y. Not just any Y. A new fancy, shiny one. We took a tour last night and I am so excited. Our membership kicks in on April 1st and my plan is to drop L off at school and head over to start my workout. I’m very happy that that we joined someplace with classes, a pool, a gym and we have friends from school that are members so L is happy about that.

I know it’s a good choice and maybe in a couple of months I won’t be the fat friend anymore. Perfect timing for swimsuit season. I’ll never be in a bikini again, but a pretty two piece will be just fine.

3 thoughts on “Let’s get real

  1. Olivia says:

    Classes are the best route for me. They tell you when you have to be there, how long you have to be there, and how long.

  2. Becca L.B. says:

    It’s all about perspective since I feel like the fat friend compared to you! I admire your commitment since I’m still eating like I was when I was pregnant…

  3. angie says:

    I just had to laugh because you are so NOT fat! But I know everyone feels and thinks their flaws are worse than everyone else. Have fun at the Y, I think you will enjoy going with your fam. I’m excited to start losing weight after Nick gets here too.

Leave a Reply

