Exergen TemporalScanner Review

Thermometer I don’t know about you but when L or J has a fever I know it right away. Usually my lips applied to one of their foreheads alerts me to a fever. I’m not good enough to tell you the degree but I can tell you if it’s high or not. This is all great but it’s definitely not what the pediatrician is looking for when you call to say your child is sick. You don’t usually say “your forehead is warm when I touch my lips to it”. This is why there’s this great invention called a thermometer. Ever heard of it?! 😉 We have all of the different kind you can have. We have the mercury one, digital and of course the ear thermometer. The mercury and digital are only correct if it’s rectal or under their armpits because they are way too little for under the tongue. Have you in the middle of the night tried to undress your child so you can place it under their armpit? It’s a struggle.

Then there’s the ear thermometer. I thought it was the answer to my prayers, but it turns out it’s the worst on the market. You have to get it in there at the right angle or the reading is all wrong. So frustrating plus it can hurt your poor child. The dilemma’s of temperature reading, I swear. Something that should be relatively simple is confusing and painful. Well you can imagine when given the opportunity to review a Temporal Scanner I jumped at it. It’s exactly like the one they use in the doctor’s office.

The Exergen TemporalScanner is definitely a kinder, gentler and more exact thermometer. It’s so easy to use. It requires a 9 volt battery that is included in the packaging, once installed you are ready to go. You start by taking off the protective cap, place the thermometer’s probe flush on your child’s forehead (preferably in the middle), press and hold the scan button, slide to the left or right towards the hairline. Make sure you keep the probe flat and in contact with the skin the entire scan (2-3 seconds). I’ll be honest this takes some getting used to, usually after 5 scans you’ve got it down. I would practice a bit first but then also be sure you are more gentle because the first time I made L’s forehead red. But, seriously I wouldn’t lie, it’s easy.

So now that you know all about my experiences with the thermometer I’ll post some FAQ’s.

What is the Exergen TemporalScanner?

The Exergen TemporalScanner is the world’s first infrared thermometer designed to measure body temperature by taking a reading from the temporal artery. The patented technology employs an infrared sensor that accurately registers body temperature to within +0.2° F, a much more accurate means of taking a temperature than any other way including oral, rectal, axillary (under the arm) and tympanic (in the ear). It is also the least invasive method, depending upon a gentle sweep over a patient’s forehead.

What does the TemporalScanner measure?

The TemporalScanner captures naturally emitted heat from the skin over the temporal artery, taking 1,000 readings per second, and selecting the most accurate. With its patented Arterial Heat Balance system, the TemporalScanner measures ambient temperatures, mathematically replaces the small temperature loss from cooling at the skin, and displays an accurate arterial temperature.

What is arterial temperature?

Arterial temperature is the same temperature as the blood flowing from the heart. It is the best determinant of body temperature.

I’ve heard the thermometer is sensitive to ambient temperature. Is it?

Yes, it is sensitive to ambient temperature, which is part of the reason it is so accurate. But, as long as the thermometer is in approximately the same ambient temperature as the individual who temperature is being taken, you don’t have to be concerned.

What else should I know?

1. Measure only the side of the head that is exposed. Any covering hair, hat, etc. will prevent the heat from dissipating, and would cause the reading to be falsely high. This also applies if one side of the head is into a pillow.

2. Slide the thermometer in a reasonably straight line across the forehead, midway between the eyebrows and the upper hairline, and not down the side of the face. Midway on the forehead area, the temporal artery is less than 2 millimeters below the skin surface, but down the side of the face, it is much deeper and less accurately measured.

3. You have purchased the gentlest and most accurate method of temperature assessment in the world.

Where can I purchase a TemporalScanner?

They are available at Wal-Mart, Babies R Us, Walgreens, Toys R Us (I’ve seen them at Target). You can contact Exergen at 1-800-422-3006 or email medical@exergen.com for additional stores near you. Also check out their website http://www.exergen.com/medical/TAT/tatconsumerpage.htm

If any of you have any other questions about the thermometer or how it works please feel free to contact me or leave a comment.

4 thoughts on “Exergen TemporalScanner Review

  1. Kasey says:

    Love this!!! We have this thermometer and absolutely love it. It is easy to use and read. 🙂

  2. jodierich says:

    I MUST agree, Hollie! I just bought one about 2 weeks ago, and even the baby does well. I get it out and he kind of lifts his chin to “stick out” his head so I can take his temp! This totally takes the stress out of things!

  3. bigbinder says:

    I got the ear one a few years ago and they suck – exactly like you said if you don’t get the angle right the reading is off. I want one of these, but I wanted to hear what someone I knew said about it – so thanks for this review!

  4. […] Hotomom : I’ll be honest this takes some getting used to, usually after 5 scans you’ve got it down. I would practice a bit first but then also be sure you are more gentle because the first time I made L’s forehead red. But, seriously I wouldn’t lie, it’s easy. […]

Leave a Reply

