I Heart Faces Constructive Feedback

Constructive Feedback

Ooh this is exciting. I am putting an original photo and an edited photo out there for some constructive feedback from the I Heart Faces contributors.

Here’s the original:

DSC_0030

The EXIF Data on the picture:

Shot in Appeture priority – fstop 5.0 – ISO 200 – focal length was 60.0mm

And here it is after I edited it in Photoshop CS3. I’m not quite happy with it. I kind of feel like something is off. It’s not soft enough for me and her cheeks are too rosy.

DSC_0030-2

I cannot wait to hear any constructive feedback they might have for me, especially since I am new to all of this editing. Wish me luck.

Thanks to any I Heart Faces Contributors that stop by.

Tagged ,

6 thoughts on “I Heart Faces Constructive Feedback

  1. Marisa says:

    I haven’t tried it, but my first thought was for you to try the dodge tool for midtones with exposure set pretty low with a feathery brush. I’m no pro by any stretch, though.

  2. Susan says:

    Ooooh, I think this is a gorgeous picture!! I posted my fix on my Flickr stream. Here’s the link:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/skeller5/3974356607/?edited=1

    Susan

  3. I just have to say that I am so in love with this photo…a beautiful little girl with such a sweet expression on her face. πŸ™‚

    For me, your editing feels like maybe it was a bit overdone leading to a lot of contrast and darkness instead of a light, bright feel that I would love to see with that beautiful smile.

    I worked on your photo this afternoon by using Camera RAW quite a bit (adjusting the fill light and color tones until I got the skin tone I was wanting) and then following my basic workflow in PS CS3 (which you can find here: http://iheartfaces.blogspot.com/2008/01/angie-arthur-fix-it-7.html)

    When I was finished, I had come up with this basic edit…I love the way it showcases her gorgeous eyes. πŸ™‚

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/thearthurclan/3975624068/

    Thank you so much for letting me play with your photo today!

    ~Angie
    co-founder of I β™₯ Faces

  4. Amanda J. says:

    I agree with Angie 100% and I love her edit :). I love the catchlights in her eyes, too.

    The only cc I have is really nit-picky. Have you tried it rotated to vertical? I keep wanting to turn my head to look at it, LOL!

    Great shot :).

  5. Marie says:

    Try using the laso tool to select just the eyes, add a feather to the selection, then adjusting the mid point in the levels to be lighter. Also another trick to just the eye selection is to use the unsharp effect to really add sparkle to the pupils.

    I’ll send you a sample

  6. Gorgeous girl!!!!!

    I saw your tweet about being discouraged… don’t be. Photoshop really really takes PRACTICE and lots of it! I took a college course and still haven’t a clue!!!! Don’t give up!

Leave a Reply

