Our Weekend

Here it is half way through our week and I am finally blogging about the weekend. Man was it a weekend.

Friday – was book club. We had so much fun. We met at Frazer’s Traveling Brown Bag. The food was yummy, the company was awesome and the drink and conversation were flowing. After Frazer’s we went to Llewlyn’s in Soulard for a couple drinks. I didn’t get home till 11:30 pm which is late for a book club Friday. Next month I am looking into a cooking class for the ladies. We are reading Julie and Julia for June.

DSCN2175_edited-1

Becca and Kristina

Saturday – J had a screening to check his development and then we headed to L’s last swim class. The kids were taken down the deep end, without floaties but they walked. When they got down there (4 kids) one teacher was in the water (we’ll call him guy) and another on the side of the pool (we’ll call her gal), there was also a lifeguard down at that end of the pool. Guy would take a noodle, wrap it around one of the kids and then have them swim out to him where he was holding a pole. The other kids were in the water but holding on to the side. Gal decided to walk away and do paperwork. It was L’s turn to swim out to the instructor (guy) so I was taking pictures and not really watching anything else. All of a sudden I see some parents start running down that way and another swim coach swimming as fast as she could. One of the little boys in L’s class had let go of the edge and had slipped under, luckily the other teacher made it to him in time. Guy couldn’t leave the student he had (which was L) plus I’m not sure he knew what was happening. Remember the lifeguard yeah he was busy looking around and not paying attention. By the time the parents got there and the lifeguard was climbing down from his tower the father was screaming (rightfully so) at the lifeguard. This is why my child will not be going back to the Y for swim lessons. I need to find another place. I of course caught some of it on camera.

There's my L smiling for me and swimming; the little boy is on the side hanging on

There's my L smiling for me and swimming; the little boy is on the side hanging on

Here the little boy has let go of the side

Here the little boy has let go of the side

He's under the water at this point, check out the lifeguard

He's under the water at this point, check out the lifeguard

This picture doesn't show the little boy but notice the lifeguard is still sitting there, the other swim coach is on her way at this point

This picture doesn't show the little boy but notice the lifeguard is still sitting there, the other swim coach is on her way at this point

I stopped taking pictures after this because I was in awe of the situation and I was making sure L made it back to the edge and didn’t get pushed aside in the shuffle. The supervisor didn’t even know what was going on and her explanation, “well they shouldn’t be down there without flotations around their waists”. Really??? Thanks!! Ugh. So after all of that we went and got some Gus’ pretzels/brats for lunch and headed back home to play outside.

Sunday – We woke up and took my mom to Home Dept because someone had stolen her lawn mower out of her garage. While there we ran into my last boss, my favorite boss. I was beside myself excited to see her. She wasn’t able to meet/see J because he was in the car with JT (she hadn’t seen him since he was in a carseat/newborn) but she was able to see L. it was really fun to catch up with her. After that we went home to play outside again and just relax and then went to my mom’s for dinner/barbecue where L and J swam with the fish.

Monday (I know it’s not the weekend) – My mom came over and we completely finished my basement. It’s amazing down there. We took a full car load of stuff to Goodwill.

Now I have to take pictures of stuff that I want to sell like the bassinet and other baby things. So there you go a full weekend, I mainly wanted to blog about Saturday’s swim class and I’m not sure why I didn’t just do that. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

