Out and About this Summer

Next week I am getting out of this house. I am going to be making playdates next week because… wait did I mention I’m getting out of the house. 🙂 Problem being I am not going to be able to throw money around the town for fun things to do. That won’t stop me.

Next week I already know we are going to Suson Park to meet the farm animals and then we are going to tackle the botanical gardens (I’m a member so it’ll be free to get in, we’ll just have to pay for the kids to get into the kids garden). Those two places will be FUN!!! I also have calls or e-mails into all the cousins. I decided not to sign my kids up for anything this summer (except horse riding lessons), we’re going to have fun doing other stuff.

JT and I also decided that we are going to go someplace local every couple of weekends this summer (or at least try to). We were excited to go to the Smokies but just coldn’t get a huge lump sum to go so instead we are going to take a couple day trips here and there. Much more afforadable.

Our first weekend of fun will be next weekend. We are taking the kids to see UP! Easy enough and fun, the kids will love it, they can’t wait to see Dug. A couple other excursions include:

I also want to go camping but JT isn’t a big fan of camping. I think it would be fun to do for one night, but we don’t even own a tent.

That’s quite a list, but we are excited to tackle it and very excited to show the kids all these things. So now that I have a list, I just need to set the reservations and game plan. I’m an over planner can you tell?

Other things we’ll have fun doing this summer:

  • Swimming at my dad’s
  • Playing in the sprinkler
  • Having playdates
  • Taking our bikes to the park
  • Horse riding lessons with Nana

There are so many fun things to do in the summer, I can’t wait. Plus I am waiting to hear about a membership to our local pool so even though the kids aren’t signed up for a ton of lessons, they will still have a great summer.

3 thoughts on “Out and About this Summer

  1. Jennifer says:

    Sounds brilliant. There are so many free things to do in so many places, it really makes ya wonder why people spend so much money to go some where else when they have so much in their own back yard!

  2. Mary Jo says:

    If you go to the Gardens on Tuesdays, members get into the children’s garden free! At least that’s how it was last year. Let me know when you go some time or if you want to go to the Zoo. We have a membership for there.

    We went to Meramec Caverns the Father’s Day I was pregnant with Erin. Mike and Evan both loved it. A little commercial for me, but I think it’s fun for kids! We also brought a lunch with us which helped.

    Which local pool are you thinking of? We are signing up for a membership to Maplewood this summer!

  3. ofebers says:

    You can come camping with us in September. No tents, you just need sleeping bags.

Leave a Reply

