Flashbacks to the Prairie

L is watching Little House on the Prairie and it is causing some major flashbacks. I loved this show growing up and I had completely forgotten all about Laura, Mary, Caroline and Charles (Ma and Pa Ingalls). They weren’t even a blip on the radar anymore, it’s funny how one thing leads to another and you find yourself revisiting your past and sitting there watching the show with your 5 year old daughter.

L is really into American Girl dolls and their history. We were talking about Kirsten and how she is from the pioneer days. One day we were at Blockbuster and she saw a covered wagon on the front of a movie case, it was a Disney movie that they aired I believe on ABC, not really sure, the movie, Little House on the Prairie, follows Laura’s books to a T and L really enjoyed the movie.

So I did a little searching and low and behold the TV series is on the Hallmark channel everyday at 9:00 and 9:30 am. So today we sat down to watch the show and I loved catching up again. It was the episode where Almonso comes to town with his sister the school teacher Mrs. Wilder. WOW!!! It’s funny how it all comes back to you. I only wish I could watch it start to finish but our local Blockbusters don’t have the series on DVD for rental there. Bummer! Amazon has the series on DVD, of course but each set is $29.99. I eventually will want to buy one of them but I think I’ll wait until I can find them for a steal.

2 thoughts on “Flashbacks to the Prairie

  1. heather says:

    I looked at Amazon too, hoping they weren’t too expensive to own… no go.
    L sounds exactly like where Savannah was at a few months ago… she couldn’t get enough of both the AG stories (she read several and we watched a couple of the movies) and that spilled into discovering Little House. Our library has a ton of seasons, fyi!
    (also, did you know there’s a children’s version of Little House books adapted from the Laura Ingalls Wilder series? Savannah devoured those! check out the library!!)

  2. Carrie says:

    I love Little House on the Prairie! That show is where my mom got the idea to name me Carrie 😉

Leave a Reply

