Hobby Hump Day – Teacher Appreciation Week

I don’t really know which day is specifically Teacher Appreciation Day but I know that they deserve a whole week, maybe it is a whole week and I’m just in the dark. Anyway, I decided that all 5 of the teachers in our lives deserved something and since I was home today and didn’t have a car I decided to set to work on a gift for all 5 of them.

I had a pack of paper flowers, basically you just punch the paper flowers out and fold them a little to give them depth. Easy!!! You can find this pack at any Archivers (that’s where I found mine).

dscn2104

I used glue dots, large and small to adhere the flowers together.

dscn2108

Then I needed some sort of stem, I remembered that L had all of these pencils that weren’t sharpened. I believe she receives one at every single party/holiday and really what is she going to do with all of them. So I took them for my project, with her full understanding and blessing. I then wrapped them with floral tape and wrapped some wire around two of them and then also wrapped floral tape around the wires.

dscn2106

dscn2109

So after all of that I punched a hole in the middle of the flowers and pushed the wire through that hole, then I hot glued a button to the middle. I did this step to the flowers that have two. On the flowers I made with only one. I took some more wire and strung it through the buttons in the middle, pushed it through holes I punched and then twisted it around the pencil.

Finally I hot glued leaves onto the pencil stems.

All that was missing…. a vase for the flowers. So when JT arrived home I went to the dollar store and purchased these glasses, they were perfect and only $2.00. I also purchased some styrofoam and cut it to fit inside the glass. I pushed the flowers/pencils down into the styrofoam and voila a flower vase.

I didn’t like the idea of seeing the styrofoam so I went a step further and pulled out all of my buttons. I placed hot glue on the styrofoam and put white buttons on the bottom layer and then some colored buttons attached with more hot glue to the top of the white buttons. Okay so I am tired and I know I didn’t explain any of this very well but here is the finished product:

dsc_0028

dsc_0029

My darling girl wanted cards for all of the teachers so I did that today too. She did all the stamping and writing so it was pretty easy for me. All I had to do was attach a few flowers.

dsc_0042-2

dsc_0041-2

So to finish them off we just punched a hole in the envelope and and tied it to the flowers. VOILA flowers that never die for a total of $3.00 each, these were a ton of fun to make and L helped me from start to finish. She is really excited to pass them out to the teachers tomorrow.

dsc_0044_edited-1

Now I just have to find a box to transport them there…. Visit 3inunder3 to view some other crafty projects or feel free to join in.

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “Hobby Hump Day – Teacher Appreciation Week

  1. jodie says:

    those are AWESOME!!! seriously. I might have to steal this idea if you don’t mind!!!

  2. ofebers says:

    So cute!

  3. hotomom says:

    jodie I hope you do steal the idea, that would be a huge compliment

  4. […] make them each a gift. L helped with all 5 of them and I have explained in great detail on my other blog how they were made. All of the teacher’s really liked them so that made me feel good. At […]

  5. hobby car says:

    Nice writing style. Looking forward to reading more from you.

Leave a Reply

