Prednisone is my FOE!!!

L has a nasty case of croup that she has had since Friday. Every night she has woken up unable to breathe and gasping. Lovely!!! I was afraid it was asthma because my mom, my brother and I all have asthma, but it’s not, just croup. So the doctor prescribed some Prednisone for her to take once a day for 3 days. Today is day 2. The first day went well because she didn’t know what she was in for, it has a grape flavor but it still has an after kick. She has to take it with a meal beause it will upset her stomach so today after lunch I loaded up the oral syringe and gave her some milk to wash it down. You have never seen a fit like the one displayed here today. I tried everything to get her to take it and she won’t. So now she is laying on her bed trying to take a nap so we can each have a little down time. I told her she isn’t allowed to play until she takes it, but tell me if this is mean she’s also not allowed to have any milk until she takes the medicine (she loves milk). It seems extreme to me but darnit I am sick of waking up in the middle of the night with a panicked toddler that can’t breathe. Just take your medicine, please!!!

*UPDATE* She finally took her medicine after only 20 minutes of trying to take a nap. Guess the threat of having to stay in her bed and take a nap was enough to work.

One thought on “Prednisone is my FOE!!!

  1. Mary Jo says:

    I’m sorry :0(
    It’s so hard when they are sick!

Leave a Reply

