Leslie Patricelli Children Books Review and Giveaway

Team Mom sent me two children’s books to review, both written and illustrated by Leslie Patricelli.

The first is titled, Baby Happy Baby Sad

baby-happy-baby-sad

What an adorable book. I handed the book to J to read (I thought it might be a little too young for L) or look through and I didn’t say anything about the book, just handed it to him. I watched as he flipped the pages and immediately got it, he understood that the baby was happy in one and sad on the next page so he began labeling the baby as he flipped through the board book. I think that’s great. I loved the illustrations they are so bright and cheerful and the book is an easy read.

The second book I was give to review was Higher Higher

higher-higher

The front of the book is extremely inviting. So colorful and sweet with the little girl on the swing. Inside was a bit surprising but easy for my kids to read. On each page it simply says Higher, Higher! On her journey to be higher she comes eye to eye with a giraffe, a skyscraper, an airplane and an alien on his own swing. It’s a cute book with equally great illustrations as baby happy baby sad.

The author Leslie Patricelli is truly gifted. The books are colorful (as I stated) but also engaging. She is the author to seven books all starring a diaper-clad baby giving a fresh take on everyday activities. Her other titles include: Binky, Blankie, BIG Little, Quiet LOUD, Yummy YUCKY, The Birthday Box and of course the two books I reviewed today.

These books are perfect for baby to toddler age and perfect for starting a babies library. For this reason I have decided to give these fantastic books away. In order to qualify for giveaway I would like you to leave a comment telling me what your favorite children’s book is, it could be one from your childhood or one that you read to your own kids. I will use random.org to draw a winner on Sunday, April 12th (Easter) in honor of my daughter’s fifth birthday. Please spread the word and good luck!!!

Tagged ,

19 thoughts on “Leslie Patricelli Children Books Review and Giveaway

  1. Mary Jo says:

    I LOVE her books! We have the Happy /Sad, Quiet/Loud and another one. I can’t remember. They are so fun :0)

    One of my new favorite children’s books is The Chimpanzees of Happy Town. I would have to go look up the author.
    And Goodnight Moon is also a favorite here :0)

  2. Carol says:

    I always always loved Bedtime for Frances, and now read it to my granddaughter.

  3. SANDY says:

    where the wild things are is one of my favorites

  4. Clarissa says:

    I loveeeeed the Curious George books!

  5. Heather S says:

    My favorite book was “Where is Sadie?”, a hide + seek book!

  6. Michele C says:

    Happy birthday to your daughter!

    My favorite book from childhood was the “Pokey little puppy”

  7. MM says:

    I love Guess how Much I Love You and also Love you Forever!

  8. ALLY M says:

    My favorite book to read to my kids has always been Where The Wild Things Are.

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  9. Suzie G. says:

    I have always loved Where the Wild Things Are. My 3 year old doesn’t really care for it, which makes me sad. Maybe one day she’ll like it.

  10. kim v says:

    I like Pat the Bunny.
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    kimspam66(at)yahoo(dot)com

  11. Paula H says:

    My favorite book was Suzy Squirrel. It’s sitting on my dresser. My son’s is Hand, Hand, Finger, Thumb by Dr. Suess. He also loves Baby ABC and No, No David.

  12. brooke says:

    Where the Wild Things Are…. my husband is to excited they made a movie about it

  13. lisa says:

    I love the Cat in the Hat. My husband laughs because I can quote so much of it from memory.
    iluvchrisnlevi@aol.com

  14. […] Leslie Patricelli Book Giveaway Posted on April 10, 2009 by hotomom Tomorrow is the last day to leave a comment so make sure and pass the word!!! Up for grabs 2 Leslie Patricelli books, you can read about them here. […]

  15. MJ says:

    I love Goodnight Moon.

    mj.coward[at]gmail.com

  16. Leslie S. says:

    We love Mr.Brown Can Moo,Can You?by Suess. Thanks!

  17. Renee G says:

    I love reading the Cat in the Hat to my boys.

    rsgrandinetti(at)yahoo(dot)com

  18. My son’s favorite book is “Moo Baa La La La” and my daughter right now likes “Double Pink” by Kate Feiffer. My favorite book as a child was “Corduroy.”

  19. Lynn says:

    Lately my son’s favorite book is In The Town All Year ‘Round, but he has MANY favorites really. We detail them on our blog (http://infantbibliophile.blogspot.com). Thanks for the great give away!

Comments are closed.

