Top Ten Tuesday – Ten People To Avoid At A Party

top-ten-tuesday

Here is my Top Ten List of people you should never stand next to at a party. My husband and I had a great time coming up with this list because we have all been cornered by one or more of these “people”.

  1. The self seller. Someone who has to sell you on how perfect their lives are. If they have to convince you, it’s probably not really all that great. You know they talk about all the things they own and purchase and the places they visit, without being asked.
  2. The drunk repeater.  The person who has told you the same story three times in one night. Oh, did you hear the one about…
  3. The uninterested. You know the one that asks a question but looks around as you are telling them the answer. They are just being polite, or so they think, completely rude.
  4. The prowler or grazer. The guy or girl that is always scanning the party for the next best thing. Someone who they predict to be prettier or smarter, than say you.
  5. The know-it-all that doesn’t know a damn thing. Whether it be a Super Bowl Party (they know all about the game, but can’t name a single player) or an Oscar Party (they’ve seen all the movies that are nominated but can’t tell you who played what character).
  6. The cultured snob. They know everything there is to know about Art, Wine, Movies, Sudan’s civil wars or just about anything that they think makes them look smarter than you.
  7. The Insulter. If you say you like a movie that you’ve seen recently their response “really, how could you possibly like that movie, only a moron would like that movie” or “Why are you wearing that? That is so last season”.
  8. The gossip. They stand in a corner with all of their friends and whisper behind their hands as everyone passes by, they are basically stuck in high school.
  9. The open book. This person will reveal everything to you, from the last day of their last period to the sexual relationship, you often look back in horror or scream… TMI!!!
  10. The food critic. Turns their nose up at all the hor’ deurves and the main dish and will always mention where they’ve had better. Can usually be seen standing next to the cultured snob.

There you have, this of course is my opinion and nothing else. If you would like to visit more Top Ten Lists please visit Oh Amanda.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten People To Avoid At A Party

  1. ohamanda says:

    How funny! You nailed it! I’ll add one–the one upper. Everytime you tell a story or mention something you’ve done, they say, “Well, I did so-and-so” which is always bigger better, more exciting or of course, WORSE than your story! 🙂

  2. Rebekah says:

    LOL… how funny!! That is so true!!

  3. Those are all great!! The only problem … it doesn’t leave that many more people left – ha!!

  4. AmyG says:

    Great list! I’m with Amanda, I always end up next to the person who has always done what I’ve done, only better! UGH!

  5. wherelifebecomesart says:

    I love it!!! I always end up next to the open book. They are attracted to me for some reason…lol. But my two biggest peeves are your first two, the Self Seller and the Drunk Repeater. I also agree with Amanda’s one upper. It’s no wonder I never go to parties..lol.

  6. JT says:

    Which one am I again?

  7. hotomom says:

    Ah the one-upper that’s a good one. I forgot about that one. I don’t do parties very often but I know I can think of a person for each of these examples 🙂

    JT you aren’t on this list. I forgot the wallflower. 🙂

  8. Janna says:

    #5 drives me nuts…we usually have more than our share of those!

Leave a Reply

