Vacations are expensive

We are vacation people. We really enjoy taking the kids places and showing them things every year. One place we have not been and desperately want to visit is the beach. The kids haven’t been to the beach and it’s all they talk about. So what we want is a nice, relaxing, warm inexpensive beach vacation. Know what?! It doesn’t exist. We are purely a cash family and that means saving money for a vacation but we are also saving money for tuition and L’s birthday and blah blah blah. The worst part of the vacation planning is finding a place to stay, we will drive anywhere in order to relax and have some fun. But the thought of just sitting on a beach and letting the kids play in the sand while I read a book or frolic in the ocean myself, don’t worry I’m not delusional things could go horribly wrong, like L and J could hate the sand or even the water. I am just venting because I am getting frustrated. Don’t you ever get frustrated about things out of your reach?

2 thoughts on “Vacations are expensive

  1. wherelifebecomesart says:

    A boyfriend and I once went to Gulf Shores Alabama and camped in the GREATEST little campground…oh wait…your not a camper…scratch that. Too bad, it was the best beach vacation I’ve ever had and sooo cheap.
    Ok, I have an uncle who owns a hotel in flordia on the beach, want me to see if I can get a deal or better?
    Another possible option, but you’d have to wait for it to be warmer…right past chicago in indiana there is an area with GIANT sand dunes and beaches that I swear don’t differ much from the ocean. Water as far as you can see. Waves. Driving distance and cheaper. But I do realize it’s not “THE” ocean 😛
    Oh…I have a few other idea’s..I’ll email you.

  2. Becca says:

    I totally agree with the other poster – Gulf Shores is beautiful!

    What about a local beach? Have you ever been to Carlyle lake? It’s not the ocean, but hey the kids can play in the sand and there is water. Plus, there are paved trails they can ride bikes or walk on. Plus, a nature trail further up the road.

Leave a Reply

