Works for Me Wednesday – Peeling Potatoes

works-for-me-wednesday1

This tip is so simple and it’s not a Hotomom original. It would be a tip from my mom. Probably a million of you already do this but to me it’s pure genius. When I peel potatoes the peels always clogs up my garbage disposal. So I was cleaning them and then peeling them onto a paper towel on the counter. Wasn’t too bad but I went to my mom’s on Valentines Day and she had to peel an entire bag for dinner. She placed a strainer in the kitchen sink and peeled into there. Talk about simple and easy. It really made the whole job go a lot faster. Why didn’t I think of that???? She’s got it all… good looks, smarts – I tell ya I only hope I am able to inspire my daughter someday with my own wonderful tips.

Now if I could only come up with a tip for not peeling your fingernail off…. ouch it hurts. Check out more tips at Rocks in My Dryer.

Tagged

4 thoughts on “Works for Me Wednesday – Peeling Potatoes

  1. wherelifebecomesart says:

    Your mom is awesome.

    I just pull the trash can over to the sink and peel them right into the trash can. I do realize not everyones kitchens or trash cans would allow this, but it works for me. I’ll have to remember the strainer idea for when I get my new kitchen (been waiting for 4 years, so who knows if it’ll ever happen).

  2. ColleenM says:

    Nope, never thought of that! lol I will do that next time I am peeling.

  3. A strainer is a great idea. I usually just used paper towels but the strainer makes much more sense.

  4. Deanna says:

    We just scrub the potatoes and keep the skin on–more vitamins, and no peeling at all.

Leave a Reply

