My Thoughts on Customer Service

On Sunday (yesterday) we went to McDonalds to get some breakfast. It’s a McDs we frequent often having two little kids, and they are never friendly and correct on the same day. Meaning one day we will get the right order but they won’t be friendly. The next day order wrong and nice as can be.

Sunday they were so rude I could barely hold my tongue. The drive thru gal wouldn’t answer a question JT had and just yelled “is that it”, he continued with his order because he is laid back. I on the other hand was fuming. We get to the window to pay… she didn’t give any eye contact, her tone was definitely bitchy and she just shoved his change at him. I just shook my head and thought I guess she’s having a bad day. We get up to the window to get our food and the gal hands JT a small tea (he had ordered a large tea) he said something to that effect. She says “want me to make you another” in the snottiest tone I have ever heard in customer service. She says “It’s not what’s on my screen”. He replied by saying simply, nevermind. We got our food and left just in disbelief. We get home and start eating. My breakfast sandwich was so stale it was tough to eat. I was furious. I know it’s McDs and we shouldn’t expect much but I was pissed off at this point. I went on their website and complained to the company and then forgot all about it.

The customer service rep for our area called me today and wanted the story. I told her everything and added this “look in this economy I expect that when I hand over $20 I am going to get my money’s worth. I want my food to taste good and my customer service to be just as good if not better. I think that they should treat me like they are happy I am coming to their establishment and spending my money.” She’s sending me a free coupon for a breakfast sandwich.

I know this is a lot to expect but who knows how much longer I will have $20 to spend on McDs at my leisure or anywhere else for that matter. Shouldn’t I be entitled to good food and being treated nicely when I do spend money at an establishment whether it be McDonalds or a 5 star restaurant.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Another instance… the other morning JT and I visited our local Starbucks. I ordered my Grande Vanilla Latte and JT always orders a Venti Black Iced Tea not sweetened. We pull up to the window and their is a customer service survey sitting out for all to read with a note. Something to effect that they are sorry they aren’t living up to our expectations and please let them know if there is anything else they can do for us during our visit. I have never had a problem with Starbucks, especially this one. In fact I believe they have the BEST customer service whether inside or drive-thru.

They are always pleasant to the point where you wonder if they are drinking too much caffeine. It’s wonderful. So we told the dude at the drive-thru window that we come here almost everyday and have never had a problem with them. We thought they were pleasant and they have never gotten our order wrong. He said thank you and passed us our drinks. As we pulled away JT started laughing. I asked him what was so funny, he stated “I ordered a Venti (the largest they have) and they gave him a Tall (the smallest they have).

Well I guess you can’t expect perfection all the time.

One thought on “My Thoughts on Customer Service

  1. Kim says:

    Regardless of whether you are spending $5 or $50, basic customer service is expected. I’m glad you talked to the company. I think too few people just chalk it up to “oh well, there’s a reason they work at McDonald’s.”

    I also try to let the company know when I get good service.

    I just posted about this today, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

