Hobby Hump Day

For Christmas this year if you’ll remember I made pretty much every gift. The one that was a HUGE surprise were the pictures I made for my cousin O, my cousin E, my aunt and my brother. Basically I took either their first name or last name and drove around in search of those letters, took a picture, printed them out in black and white and placed them into the frame. The only frame I could find was a five slot one from Target.

Thank god for Target on-line this will help explain… this is the frame I purchased for each of them:

5-photo-frame

and here are some of the pictures I took of everyday items or letters from signs around the tri-city area. I think they were a big hit. Now if only I could find a 6 photo frame then I could do my own last name cause I really want one.

dscn8509-2    dscn8459-2    dscn8461-2   dscn8445-2

For more Hobby Hump Day check out 3inunder3, plus she has a link to Bird and Little Bird who happens to be hosting a handmade toy swap to help “Save Handmade“. I haven’t made friends with my sewing machine yet, you have to thread apparently for them to work 🙂 but if you want to participate follow the above links.

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Hobby Hump Day

  1. Carrie says:

    I love these! Matt and I were talking about buying one for ourselves.

  2. hotomom says:

    If you find a frame I might have the pictures to do it for you. I just can’t seem to find the 6 photo frames and to buy a 6 letter one is a little expensive.

  3. ofebers says:

    I love mine!

  4. heather says:

    I did these last year for family… they absolutely loved them too! I did all black and whites and did all objects… no letters from signs or that was cheating! It was such a fun adventure to find all the letters around town and in our neighborhood!
    Our newly married sister and brother in law have 12 letters in their last name so I got 5×7 clip frames from Ikea (for like fifty cents apiece!) and put ribbon on them to hang across a pretty curtain rod. So that’s always an option for longer names/words.
    Walmart does have a long six window frame that I did use last year as well.

    Also, for my (unmarried) sister, I did the words Live Laugh and Love in bright funky letters from different signs. For those I used the clip frames and then mounted them on a long two inch wide piece of wood that I painted black. I have pictures if that doesn’t really make sense. They looked really cool.

  5. I love this idea! I just may steal it…

Leave a Reply

