Things I Love Thursday – YouTube saved me money!

tilt

Since I am beside myself happy I thought I would use the reason for my happiness for my TILT today. The reason???? I found a YouTube video that completely instructed me on how to change my own hard drive and right now my pc is downloading all of the programs that it came with and says that it recognizes the brand new hard drive. Yeah me!!! I can’t believe it was that easy.

Now here is what I am really upset about, basically here’s the story. The gentleman that I took my pc too told me that he would run a diagnostic check on my hard drive and see what the problem was and it would cost $39.00. Great have at it… he claims he was on the phone with Dell for two hours and that the hard drive was completely destroyed because of a bad hard drive. Fine, I only lost 1 1/2 months of pictures, I was upset but I will live!! Dell was going to replace the hard drive at no cost to me. It’s covered under warranty. My warranty is good till May, thank heaven!! He tells me that when he receives the new hard drive he will need to install it and download all my software and it will cost me $206.50. OMG!! So he gives me the phone number and case number for Dell, I had a bad feeling about the guy so I decided to call Dell myself. Dell tells me that the hard drive they are sending already has the programs added. It’s basically what I ordered when I purchased my pc in May and I can call them back and they will walk me through the installation themselves. So the tech dude is charging me an installation fee for programs that are already on the hard drive. What a punk!! JT called him and told him that I would be picking up my pc and the new hard drive when it arrived and we wouldn’t be using his services. He tells JT that it’s extremely difficult to install a hard drive and you need all kind of special equipment, just more BS. JT tells him it doesn’t matter we aren’t using him. So I pick up the pc and he says “you should have called me before you picked it up”, just give me my pc dumba**. He says “well I hope your husband knows what he is doing!” Uh yeah we were going to take it to Best Buy where they charge only $40 to install a hard drive d***head. I was fuming by this point, then he tells me that it’s $59.00, WTF?? I didn’t challenge him on the price I just left. Well today I couldn’t get anyone to answer at Best Buy so I started to look around the internet, I could’ve called Dell but I could barely understand the guy so instead I found this video (down below) and followed it to a T and voila my hard drive is installed and downloading programs as we speak. Stupid Tech!!! This video just gave me the basics which is what I needed. It may not work for everyone.

YOUTUBE I LOVE YOU!!! You saved me money and time. Sorry it was a long story but really I feel better having gotten that off my chest. Whew!!! Plus I discovered while in my computer that I can add more memory down the road instead of buying a new pc in a couple years. Now if only I could get Windows Vista to perform regularly… that’s a whole different story, if you have Vista you know what I am talking about.

For more TILT check out the Diaper Diaries.

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Things I Love Thursday – YouTube saved me money!

  1. Becky says:

    Good on ya for not falling for that garbage.

  2. Kim says:

    I know there are instructional videos on YouTube, but I find myself distracted by the funny ones.

    Good for you! I’ll definitely keep YouTube in mind!

  3. Hmm, good to know. You Tube rocks for a million and one reasons!!

  4. Mary Jo says:

    What a jerk! I’m glad it all worked out for you though!

Leave a Reply

