Passing on the Christmas spirit

I believe it’s time for me to bring a little charity into our Christmas this year. My kids are finally old enough that they understand that not all little kids are as privileged as they are. So now I have the task of finding a charity that we want to support or believe in. There are so many… Toys for Tots, Operation Christmas Child, Make-A-Wish Foundation or My Two Front Teeth. Does anyone out there in bloggy land have any experience with this? What is your favorite Christmas charity?

The one thing I am going to do this year is support Kim. She is Jessica and Kelli Uhl’s mother (here’s their story if you live in the STL metro area you will have heard of these girls). On November 23rd she is having a candlelight vigil in their memory but she is also sponsoring a tree in Collinsville’s Festival of Trees. If you attend the vigil make sure you bring an ornament so she can place it on her tree. Isn’t that a neat idea. I love it so L and I are going to pick out a special ornament for Jessica and Kelli and send them to her because we will be unable to attend the vigil.

jessicaandkelli_candle21

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Passing on the Christmas spirit

  1. heather says:

    My kids each do a box for Operation Christmas Child as well as a toy each for Toys for Tots every year. They look forward to it and get so excited to pick out the goodies for the kids!!

    I think this year we are also going to pick two kids (trying to find one as close to the same exact ages of each of our kids as possible) from Compassion International and as a Christmas gift to our kids, commit to sponsor those kids. Hopefully throughout the years our kids can write to/ send special things and form somewhat of a bond with these kids as we watch them grow up. I think that will be a priceless gift to our own kids as well as making a difference in the lives of the children in waiting for sponsors.

    I think sending an ornament to Kim is a great idea. That tree will be awesome!

  2. Mary Jo says:

    I did remember their story once I checked out the link. So sad and so unneccesary.

    I’m not sure what we are doing this year. I know we donate to the Salvation Army bucket a lot. Evan likes to put money in there. And our church usually has an ornament tree where you pick an ornament and buy a gift for the child who is listed on there.
    I also like the Toys for Tots idea.

Leave a Reply

