4 Days Til Halloween – CANDY!!!

What would Halloween be without candy… well a festival of the dead. Yeah that doesn’t sound like a ton of fun does it. Here is what Lycos says were the most searched for Halloween candies last year:

  1. Tootsie Rolls
  2. Hershey’s Milk Chocolate
  3. Nestle Crunch
  4. Nerds
  5. Hot Tamales
  6. Candy Corn
  7. Snickers Bar
  8. Baby Ruth
  9. Reese’s Pieces
  10. Almond Joy
  11. Milky Way
  12. Razzles
  13. Life Savers
  14. M&M’s
  15. Sour Patches

What are my favorites??? Anything chocolate without nuts. I am not a fan of nuts. But I really like (warning it’s a little strange) candy sticks, those white sticks of pure sugar, yeah that would be my favorite and they are hard to find.

Do you have a favorite? Did you notice that Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups didn’t make the list or Twizzlers and the more I read on-line on this topic it was said that Dum Dum’s are a bad thing to give out. My kids are still young and they LOVE Dum Dum’s and I do too for that matter because they aren’t too messy. What do I know?!

According to Serious Eats the Top 10 worst Halloween treats are:

  1. Toothbrushes – I think that this is pretty bad, like I need some stranger telling me to bruch my kids teeth after a night of Trick or Treating, thanks for the parenting tip but I’ve got it covered
  2. Raisins – I can understand why people don’t want to give out candy but raisins…
  3. Candy Corn – these are so plentiful and my kids go crazy, I’m not a huge fan
  4. Necco Wafers and Smarties – Necco Wafers yes they suck but smarties are awesome
  5. Dum Dum Lollipops – you saw my love of DUM DUM Declaration up above
  6. Apples – this has never happened to us
  7. Tootsie Rolls – WTF?! I wonder if this list was written by a dentist
  8. Miscellaneous, Hard Wrapped Candies – they give those strawberry shaped candies, butterscotch and peppermints as examples and I would have to agree.
  9. Laffy Taffy – yeah I am definitely starting to think of a dentist now.
  10. Anything Fun Sized – totally disagree the bite size are perfect for my youngsters and in this day and age who wants their 3 year old to sit down and eat an entire candy bar – I can see how it sucks to receive these for the older kids.

The other trend I have noticed lately that are readily available: bubbles, stickers, temporary tattoos and pennies are always popular but now people are told to give out small things of playdoh (um no thanks, I hate playdoh – it’s makes me crazy how messy it is), pencils, erasers, plastic jewelry, glow sticks and of course gum. I am all for receiving something besides candy, just not playdoh please (but that’s my personal decision). Whatever you like or whatever your preference, I hope you get a lot of it on Halloween, because you know it’s us parents that eat a majority of it. 🙂

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

