5 Days Til Halloween – Our Favorite Kids Halloween Books

My kids love books, almost as much as I do. They really love reading books about upcoming Holidays or Seasons so it should be no surprise to you that we have a ton of Halloween books. Here are some of my kids favorites:

  • Skeleton Hiccups. I purchased this book through the Scholastic order form that J brought home from school. I am never really sure about Scholatic books but this is one of their favorites. You should hear J read this book to us. Cutest thing. I will try to get some video.
  • Queen of Halloween. A new book by Mary Engelbreit. Very cute starring Ann Estelle, this was L’s pick this year.
  • Cliffords Halloween. L went through a Clifford phase when she was two. It was all about Clifford all the time but this is the only book that we still read often.
  • Halloween Jack. This was J’s pick this year. He really like the sound effects.
  • Who’s There on Halloween. Even though this is a board book the kids like to solve the riddles leading to the character on the next page.
  • Plumply, Dumply Pumpkin. Another board book about a little cat that picks a pumpkin and carves the pumpkin and wins first place.
  • Froggy’s Halloween. Froggy books are always good books and this one doesn’t disappoint.
  • Happy Halloween Stinky Face. This is our frist Stinky Face book and I have to say at first I was pretty put off by the fact that the mom calls him Stinky Face but it’s a really cute book about dealing with little ones fears on Halloween.
  • Shake Dem Halloween Bones. I am not a huge fan of this book. I think it’s a little far fetched and I am personally not a fan of books I have to sing. But my kids love it so there you are.

Those are the books we have but these are the books I want to add to our library.

  • The Night Before Halloween. I love these books. We own the night before vacation one.
  • The Haunted Ghoul Bus. Very cute book. I sat down and read this to J one day at the book store. We didn’t bring it home with us that day. I should have.

I usually let the kids get one or two book each holiday or season. It’s a lot of fun and we as a family generally like to read.

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “5 Days Til Halloween – Our Favorite Kids Halloween Books

  1. bigbinder says:

    I am the Scholastic Coordinator for A.P.’s class. I get all of the catalogs. I get to decide which ones we are going to order from as a class, and I collect all the money and place the order.

    I freakin’ love kids books. I about wet my pants when his teacher asked me to do it.

  2. Mary Jo says:

    We just ordered Skeleton Hiccups from Evan’s book order but haven’t received it yet. I’m never to sure of the Scholastic books either and always feel I’m taking a chance. Good to know it’s ok :0)

    We also love Big Pumpkin by Erica Silverman!

  3. hotomom says:

    I was in charge of the Scholastic book orders at my last job (I was a secretary). I do love flipping through the order forms but I have gotten a couple books that stinkaroo. So I never know which ones to order.
    WE really like Skeleton Hiccups.

  4. Bill Zicker says:

    Thought I’d add my 2 cents and mention a new and as yet widely unknown book – Fluffy the Vulture. OK, maybe too late for Halloween, but there’s always Christmas! Great for parents and kids interested in languages, as the text is in nine languages, parallel translation, color-coded to demonstrate like words/phrases between the languages.

  5. […] Reading Skeleton Hiccups Posted on October 27, 2008 by hotomom Remember my Halloween post here where I bragged about J reading Skeleton Hiccups and how it makes me go “ahhhh” and […]

Leave a Reply

