7 Days Til Halloween – Scariest Movies, Books & Music

As I have mentioned I am not a fan of being scared. I don’t watch scary movies, I have trouble watching my favorite show Criminal Minds sometimes (yeah it’s that bad). I don’t think it’s fun to sit around and watch people get chopped up and gush blood or watch the idiots just stand there while bad guy is coming right at them… STUPID!!! Sorry I am getting worked up, but according to IMDB‘s Horror Boards here are the 13 scariest-ever fright files, in order:

  1. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974)
  2. Halloween (1978)
  3. Psycho (1960)
  4. Night of the Living Dead (1968)
  5. The Exorcist (1973)
  6. The Shining (1980)
  7. Dawn of the Dead (2004)
  8. The Thing (1982)
  9. Suspiria (1977)
  10. Jaws (1975) This movie is the reason I do not swim in the ocean. I will spare my children of this movie for quite a while.
  11. A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)
  12. The Evil Dead (1981)
  13. Alien (1979)

I have to add to this list… IT by Stephen King. I was so scared when I saw this movie that to this day I still do not walk by sewers or park by them, this is really hard to do since I live in the city people. Okay, so after reading that information I was in search of the scariest books ever written and I found a top 5 list on CNN:

  1. Dracula by Bram Stoker
  2. The Shining by Stephen King
  3. The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty
  4. The Short Stories of Edgar Allen Poe
  5. The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

I believe that a book can be scarier than a movie because with a book you imagination can run wild instead of watching some special effects. Last but not least, here are 13 movie scores that if you hear to this day still scare the pants off of you or at least make you think of that one scary movie, the list was found here if you would like to read the descriptions more in depth:

  1. Psycho
  2. Suspiria
  3. Rosemary’s Baby
  4. The Ninth Gate
  5. Halloween
  6. Creature from the Black Lagoon
  7. The Night Walker
  8. The Shining
  9. The Exorcist
  10. Bride of Frankenstein
  11. King Kong (1933)
  12. The Omen (1976)
  13. Jaws (uh yeah)

Wow so there you go… did you notice that The Exorcist made every list. I have seen that movie and I didn’t think it was that bad. I expected it to be worse than it was but maybe it’s because I didn’t see it for the first time when I was little, I was 29 the first time I saw the film.

Have a good non scary day!! If you want to add anything to these lists please share in the comments. Look forward to seeing some of your scariest lists.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

