In honor

Today is a really special day. It’s my grandfather’s birthday. I am not feeling so hot today so I will refer you back to a poem I wrote on November 5, 2007. We miss him everyday, not a day goes by I don’t think about him. This isn’t the best poem but it’s what he meant to me.

You were such a wonderful man,

With rough, yet gentle hands;

Called husband, friend, Peepaw and Dad,

A caring and loving soul you had;

The kindest eyes behind your cap,

There was always room upon your lap;

Worked so hard for many years,

For a family you loved so dear;

You cared for every one of us,

No matter if we caused a fuss;

We will never forget you,

The husband, friend, Peepaw and Dad we knew.

3 thoughts on “In honor

  1. bigbinder says:

    He must have been very special. What a nice way to remember his birthday.

  2. Olivia says:

    That made me so sad. I almost forgot how handsome he was.

  3. JT says:

    It’s a beautiful poem about a wonderful man.

    But, geez, I thought I looked like a dork…. your uncle beat me on that.

Leave a Reply

