Works for Me Wednesday – Your Advice Last Week

Last week was a backwards edition of WFMW and I asked for advice on getting my kids to sleep in their own beds. The advice I received was wonderful. I have started using two of the recommendations. The first thing I did was get one of the kids’ crib mattress from the basement and place it beside our bed on the floor, along with a pillow and blanket. This has been a godsend (*except for one little set back*). When the kids wake up and are scared or just feel like they want to be near us they can sleep on the floor right beside me without waking us up. Well kind of, we still wake up when they come in but we all sleep much better.

The second thing I instituted. A good girl jar and a good boy jar (I know the names are lame). When they sleep in their beds all night long they can place two marbles into a mason jar with their name on the outside. If they clean up the toy room without me having to scream a lot they can place one in the jar, if they fight one comes out of the jar. Basically if they are good one (or two) if they are bad, one removed. This has been a wonderful addition to our parenting. When the marbles are all gone, they can have a treat, whether it be a trip to Target (each marble is worth 50 cents), a movie, an afternoon at Monkey Joes, anything within reason they would like as a reward. This also stops them from constantly asking for stuff at the store. I don’t know why I didn’t think of this before the suggestion last week. My PE does this with her kids, DUH!!

Check out more WFMW ideas at Rocks in My Dryer.

Thanks to everyone for their advice last week. I took everyone’s words into consideration.

Tagged ,

6 thoughts on “Works for Me Wednesday – Your Advice Last Week

  1. Leanne says:

    Hey, glad the jars are working. The little nest beside your bed is a great idea, I wish I’d heard of it sooner, it would have been a great help in the early days.

    To uninterupted sleep and long lie ins:)

  2. Brooke says:

    my sister does the same concept, except instead of marbles she does sticks. its worked well for her also.

  3. Steffj89 says:

    i do similar to the marbles as well…we do dimes here. i buy each child a roll of i got the idea from Creative Correction by Lisa Whelchel…but she buys a whole roll of dimes every week….my kids will have to work really hard to earn that whole roll of dimes right now….LOLOL
    Steff

  4. Shynea says:

    The jars sound like a good idea to me. Definitely something that I will have to try out with my own children. I am glad that you have found a solution that has worked for you when it comes to keeping your children in their own beds. I guess I am lucky. My boys co-slept with me for the longest time, but when it was time for me to put them in their own bed, I had no problems. I was a lot easier then I thought it was going to be.

  5. Tara says:

    This is what I am going to do for my 4 year old!!! Thanks for the reminder!

  6. […] in ours, a woman named Lisa gave us advice that we can’t repay her for and I posted about it here. What does that have to do with anything? Well, both of my kids have had croup the last two weeks. […]

Leave a Reply

