What would you have done?

This has really been bothering me today. Last night it was 11:30 and I was up late reading some blogs and waiting for my camera battery to finish charging, I glanced outside to see if it was raining yet and there was a couple outside in front of our house arguing. I watched for a couple of seconds and the man grabbed her by the throat and threw her up against the light pole. I stopped breathing and watched. It lasted a second, she yelled at him and he let go. He walked down the street and she crossed the street away from him. She stood on the other side of the street fixing her hair and yelled something. With that he comes running across the street and grabs her by the throat again. It lasted longer this time so I picked up the phone and was dialing 911 when he let go and they walked away so I hung up the phone (they would be gone by the time the police would’ve arrived). I sneaked into sleeping L’s room and looked out her window and I didn’t see them anywhere.

What would you have done? I was so conflicted. I wanted to open the window and yell at him, then I wanted to run downstairs and tell him I was calling the police, but then I thought about my kids and the fact that this man is obviously dangerous and he would know where I live. I feel like I made the right choice for my family but I feel like I didn’t for our community. But shouldn’t my family come first? All I know is if that was L or my mom or even myself I would hope someone would call the police but yet I hesitated and didn’t, so now I feel awful. I didn’t even call JT (which is what I probably should’ve done) but I didn’t want to wake the kids and I didn’t want to take my eyes off of her in case something else happened.

I’m starting to ramble. I really want to know what you have done?

2 thoughts on “What would you have done?

  1. bigbinder says:

    That’s a bad situation, definitely you don’t want him coming after you at any point so not yelling or even letting him know you were watching him was smart. I am a neighborhood tattletale; I call the police non-emergency line all the time so I probably would have done that but like I said – I call all the time anyway.

  2. hotomom says:

    I am also usually the tattletale. But, this time I froze. I didn’t even breathe it was so strange. I am usually the first one to stand up and do something…

Leave a Reply

