I’m being edjumacated

That’s right I am taking a “class” in nutrition. It’s actually a very good class. My Parents as Teachers Parent Educator recommended me to the class and I am having a blast, it’s one of our group meetings. We are learning all about the pyramid and what to serve our kids instead of what we currently serve our poor starving children. The presenter is awesome. I adore her. She is down to earth and knows her stuff and knows that we aren’t perfect. You can tell me what I need to eat and 7 times out of 10 I will listen but don’t we all have those days.

Here’s the pyramid we are using:  You can click on it to make it larger.

Now I have learned me some new things in this class… listen up did you know that after the age of 30 women stop producing calcium. What you have at that point is all that you will ever have… unless, you have 3 cups of calcium daily, then you replenish what was used and continue to add to your body. I had no idea, wait, let me take a drink of my milk :-).

Oooh and the best part we eat in this class. Tonight I had the yummiest enchilada with fruit salsa and homemade cinnamon chips. Seriously the yummiest I have had outside a Mexican restaurant. I do currently make an enchilada from Campbell’s Kitchen and it does not even compare to the one I tasted this evening. I’m in love, can you tell?!

Our nutritional leader also gives us handouts with recipes and snack ideas for our toddlers. All in all I look forward to every Thursday night. I even switched from white bread to whole grain bread because she convinced me it was better for me.

All these little things can help in my case, I am a junk food addict (as I eat some cookies). So here’s to eating healthy or the beginning of eating healthy.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “I’m being edjumacated

  1. bigbinder says:

    That’s awesome!! I switched breads too, and now I’m working my way up the food pyramid. I might link back to this when I get waaay up to dairy/calcium – might be a while though.

  2. hotomom says:

    I am really enjoying myself. Who knew nutrition could be this much fun…. Now let’s see if I can stick with it.

Leave a Reply

