What’s a mom to do?

First off here is a link to this woman’s horrible story. It happened around Christmas time.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080312/ap_on_re_us/mom_on_trial;_ylt=Ag3CVzar27BCk.I39G6OpnNH2ocA

I first heard about this on the blog Lifenut, I am glad I am not alone on this issue because I have done this. I have left my children in my locked car and walked several paces away from the car. I have done it at Target or the grocery store when I have to return a cart. I have also done it when I’ve pulled away from my house and had to turn around to get the library books I’ve forgotten. I always lock the car, turn the alarm on and return quickly, never taking my eyes off the car. Sometimes if I only have one child, I will take him/her with me to the cart return, but it’s easier to leave them in the car that is turned off and with them buckled into their seats with the doors locked and alarm on than it is to hold one’s hand and have the other on my hip and navigate through a busy parking lot just to return a cart. I will say if the cart return is too far away then I will dump the cart somewhere close. Stores don’t always make it easy for moms, they would rather have the parking spots than help us out. I may be wrong, but it doesn’t make me a bad mom.

While I am on the soapbox, I have one other complaint about my favorite stores, BORDERS, BARNES & NOBLE and OLD NAVY = why in the world do they think it’s okay to have doors that aren’t power opened, they aren’t even handicap accessible. I don’t know how someone in a wheelchair doesn’t have the same difficulties I have with a double stroller, it’s a pain to navigate these doors. In this day and age you would think this would’ve been fixed. It must be just me.

3 thoughts on “What’s a mom to do?

  1. Nicole says:

    I KNOW! about the power doors…it makes it SO hard to get in these places. Worse yet are the employees who make no effort to help you when they see you struggling…

  2. Anna says:

    There’s no right answer here. If you keep them out of the car, you’re risking getting them hit by a car, getting wet in the rain, frostbite in the cold, etc.
    If you leave them in the car, lots of other dangerous things could happen.
    There has to be a way to let a parent make the best decision for their child.

  3. hotomom says:

    I totally agree with you Anna, at least make a decision without one of us getting arrested. No matter what decision you make it won’t agree with everyone else’s.

    Nicole I agree with you too, the employees will roll their eyes at you… so much for customer service these days.

Leave a Reply

