No Reservations

anthony-bourdain.jpg  Have you ever seen the show on the Travel Channel… Anthony Bourdain No Reservations. At first I wouldn’t watch it because he’s harsh, rude, boorish, arrogant, observant (tell’s it like it is) and okay to quote him a “cranky bastard”. But my husband was a huge fan of the show and he would watch it religiously every Monday night at 9:00 CT (I’m not being paid to plug the show, swear). So I finally gave it a chance and it is a great show. I am thoroughly surprised.

The reason I am posting about the show tonight?  #1 It’s on  #2 He’s in New Orleans.

new-orleans.jpg

It has to be one of the saddest shows I have seen in a long time. To think that a fine city was destroyed here in the United States of America and little has been done to help anyone there… still, just blows my mind. I know, I know, where have I been?! Well you see 2 1/2 years ago almost exactly, I was giving birth to my own “hurricane”, I gave birth to J on Monday, August 29th 2005 at exactly 6:27 am. I laid in a hospital bed all blissful and tired with my brand new baby while New Orleans was destroyed, so you will have to forgive me for just catching up. I knew it was bad, just not this bad.

A simple show about food from a simple man opened my eyes. My opinion of America is a little different tonight and my opinion of Anthony Bourdain… he has a wonderful show that is entertaining and he is a smart man. (He featured an author who wrote 1 Dead in Attic by Chris Rose, I can’t wait to read it.)

Remember to vote tomorrow on Super Tuesday!

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “No Reservations

  1. bigbinder says:

    Did we talk about this at New Year’s?? I think we did – I have the exact same experience with Hurricane Katrina. I remember my Dr came in my hospital room to check in on me (on August 30, 2005) and I was like, hey! Did you hear there is some huge storm in Louisana? Umm, yeah. I’m always stunned when I see footage of it now, because I missed it the first time around.

  2. hotomom says:

    I don’t think we did talk about it. I forgot that they are the same age. I remember that was all that was on in my hospital room was the news coverage.

Leave a Reply

