Works for Me Wednesday

pat-just-logo.gif  Parents as Teachers works for me. I used to work for a school district here in St. Louis and LOVED my job so much. My boss was totally awesome (I just channeled my 14 year old self) and the women that I worked with were great. I miss all of them everyday. I always wished that I lived in Webster so that I could have one of those great women as my P.E. (parent educator). That was until I met my current P.E. I love her. She and I get along so well and I never feel stupid for asking a question. My kids adore her and they listen to her. I never feel bad if my house is a mess when she comes, I don’t have to get all dolled up because she makes us all so comfortable. (She’s also my scrapbooking buddy). But, she is a hard worker and all of her families love her. The reason that PAT works for me is that whenever I have a question or a problem I can call her and she gets back to me right away. I always feel like I have someone on my side and on my kids side. She was the one to help me figure out if I needed to call the doctor about J’s speech. I always, always call her before I call the doctor. If you don’t use Parents as Teachers and want to – it’s for kids ages newborn to 3 (even though L isn’t in the program anymore, she still includes her in J’s visits). If you have questions, feel free to contact me or check out their website http://www.parentsasteachers.org/site/pp.asp?c=ekIRLcMZJxE&b=272091. I hope if you are in the program you are just as lucky as I am to have a PE like mine.

Tagged ,

7 thoughts on “Works for Me Wednesday

  1. Jeni says:

    I SO wish we had PAT in Tennessee. We lived in Missouri until a month before our daughter was born, and I’m jealous of all my Missouri friends who get to use that program!

  2. hotomom says:

    Oh, I am so sorry that you don’t have that opportunity. It’s a great program. Maybe you could petition to have it come to your state. I don’t know much about that process. Hopefully you have a great pediatrician.

  3. diehl99 says:

    We love PAT! I’d love to work for them someday, when my own kids are bigger…

  4. We have it here in Grand Rapids too! It’s called Bright Beginnings, but it’s PAT. It goes until age 5 here though. I love it too!! I blogged about my parent educator before, and they have playgroups and activities at different schools, and a little camp in the summer… it’s great!

  5. Kristin says:

    Just found your blog from Rocks In My Dryer – I’m in St. Louis too. I haven’t used PAT yet, but I might now!

  6. Christi says:

    PAT is a great program for some much-needed, third-party endorsement. I appreciated having someone (besides my mother) affirming that I was doing an okay job with my two daughters!

  7. Kerry says:

    PAT can be found in ALL 50 states, Jeni! Go the PATNC.com and click on your state on the map. It will list the programs in Tennessee.

Leave a Reply

